There are two ways to recertify:


Complete the Recertification Journal:  Obtain a minimum of 18 recertification units during your three-year certification period. Document them in your recertification journal.

Volunteering to perform section activities and hold Section leadership position(s) is the easiest and most rewarding way to maintain your certification. Attend one of the Leadership Team meetings or contact one of the Leadership Team members for information on volunteer opportunities.

NOTE:  The position of Recertification Chair was eliminated as of January 1, 2019. You must complete and submit your recertification journal online through For more information log onto and navigate to:


Examination: Sit for the exam. (Required if your certification has expired and is past the six-month grace period.)

Do I Need to Recertify? ASQ requires that you recertify the following certifications every three years to ensure that you maintain the same level of knowledge demonstrated in your first exam.

• Biomedical Auditor
• Calibration Technician
• HACCP Auditor
• Manager of Quality/Organizational Excellence
• Master Black Belt
• Pharmaceutical GMP Professional
• Quality Auditor
• Quality Engineer
• Reliability Engineer
• Software Quality Engineer
• Six Sigma Black Belt
• ASQ/DON Lean Six Sigma Black Belt

Note: Quality Inspector, Quality Improvement Associate, Quality Process Analyst, Quality Technician and Six Sigma Green Belt are lifetime certifications. They have no recertification requirements.

American Society for Quality